HQ NOW: Murphy wins Baseball Writer of the Year

Great news!

Ray Murphy, co-GM of BaseballHQ.com, was named 2016 Baseball Writer of the Year by the Fantasy Sports Writers Association (FSWA) on Tuesday evening, February 7. 

The FSWA Awards are independently judged, and hardware is handed out across seven different sports. There were six fantasy baseball specific categories this year, and Ray was one of five finalists in the Baseball Writer of the Year category. The list of 2016 FSWA finalists can be found here; the winners are listed here

In the nomination process for the award, Ray submitted five essays from 2016, which are collected below—and you can read for free. They show off Ray's skills in fantasy strategy, in-season tactics, and deep player evaluation. In chronological order:

Schwarber and Pollock, patch and spackle (April 21)
SPOTLIGHT: Melvin Upton, Jr. (May 15)
Trade negotiation workshop: Tout/LABR edition (June 2)
SPOTLIGHT: Jeremy Hellickson (June 20)
Helium (June 23)

Murphy joins other BaseballHQ.com staffers who have been honored by FSWA with awards for outstanding work in the past: Ryan Bloomfield, Patrick Davitt, Dave Martin, Alex Beckey and Brent Hershey. Visit our Awards and Titles page for a complete list.

Join us in congratulating Ray for this great honor in recognition of his skilled analysis and invaluable contributions to BaseballHQ.com, which helps keep the site at the forefront of the fantasy baseball industry.

Kudos, Ray!

Click here to subscribe

  For more information about the terms used in this article, see our Glossary Primer.